Situma Rues Penalty Call, Calls For Focus
James Situma has faulted Badr Yassin for a wrong penalty call in the 1-2 loss to AFC Leopards in the Round 25 league match played at the Kenyatta Stadium on Sunday.
Whyvonne Isuza converted from the spot at the half hour mark after Situma was adjudged to have fouled Jaffery Owiti inside the box.
“For sure that was not a penalty. When I decided to tackle him I knew he was outside the box. I was shocked by his (Badr’s) decision,” began Situma.
Deep into stoppage time of the first half, Situma scored his first goal for the club to draw the game level heading into the interval.
James Situma in action against AFC Leopards at the Kenyatta Stadium on Sunday, August 5, 2018.
“This was my third game and scoring was a big plus. It motivates me to continue working hard and repay the faith that the coach has shown in me,” he added.
Marvin Omondi’s second half goal confirmed the hosts’ victory even after losing Isuza who was sent off for a second bookable offence. Despite the loss, Situma is confident that the team will soon bounce back to winning ways.
“We showed a lot of improvement in this match and that shows that the hard work in training is paying off. We just need to remain focused and approach the remaining nine matches with the same mentality,” asserted the Kenyan international.